The "Alliance" fights discrimination against Roma at the local and regional levels, promotes their inclusion and raises awareness of these communities among local and regional authorities.

The Alliance operates under the auspices of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe.

Follow us on:

facebook twitter rss

Join the Alliance

If you wish your local or regional authority to become an Alliance participant, please use this form.

130 cities and regions from 29 countries

Please note

The term “Roma and Travellers” is used at the Council of Europe to encompass the wide diversity of the groups covered by the work of the Council of Europe in this field including Roma, Sinti/Manush, Calé, Kaale, Romanichals, Boyash/Rudari, Balkan Egyptians (Egyptians and Ashkali), Eastern groups (Dom, Lom and Abdal), groups such as Travellers, Yenish, and the populations designated under the administrative term “Gens du voyage”, as well as persons who identify themselves as Gypsies.


World Day of Romani Language - Statement by the Secretary General


On the occasion of the World Day of Romani Language, I call on member states to step up efforts to recognize, protect, promote, and develop the Romani language in Europe.

The Romani language and its many variants are an integral part of our common European cultural and linguistic heritage and wealth. Romani is key to the Roma identity and its preservation and serves as a means of communication for many of the 10-12 million Roma estimated to be living in Europe.

16 Council of Europe member states* have so far officially recognized Romani as a minority language under the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages.

Enabling and promoting its use in education, the media, and public life, so that children can learn it at school and adults can use it in their everyday life, will contribute to increasing the respect of the dignity and identity of Roma people.

*Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Ukraine