The "Alliance" fights discrimination against Roma at the local and regional levels, promotes their inclusion and raises awareness of these communities among local and regional authorities.

The Alliance operates under the auspices of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe.

Follow us on:

facebook twitter rss

Join the Alliance

If you wish your local or regional authority to become an Alliance participant, please use this form.

130 cities and regions from 29 countries

Please note

The term “Roma and Travellers” is used at the Council of Europe to encompass the wide diversity of the groups covered by the work of the Council of Europe in this field including Roma, Sinti/Manush, Calé, Kaale, Romanichals, Boyash/Rudari, Balkan Egyptians (Egyptians and Ashkali), Eastern groups (Dom, Lom and Abdal), groups such as Travellers, Yenish, and the populations designated under the administrative term “Gens du voyage”, as well as persons who identify themselves as Gypsies.


Ukraine: Khust, Rivne and Ivano-Frankivs'k sign the Declaration



On the occassion of the 2nd official meeting of the Ukrainian Alliance of Cities and Regions for Roma Inclusion, three Councillors signed the Declaration against anti-Gypsiysm. Mr Petro PRYHARA, Member of Khust District Council, Ms Svitlana BOHATYRCHUK KRYVKO, Member of Rivne Regional Council and Mr Sergiy BASARAB, Deputy Chairman of Ivano-Frakivs'k Regional Council expressed their will to fight anti-Gypsyism in their Districts and Regions by signing the Declaration.

The Declaration against anti-Gypsyism is a document that gives Mayors the opportunity to take a clear stance against anti-Gypsyism.Signatories of the Declaration express their will to reject all forms of discrimination, violence or incitement to hate speech against Roma in their municipalities or regions. They refuse to display, publish or distribute in any way views and positions that could stir or incite anti-Roma sentiments. They declare to refrain from any political alliance building or co-operation with political parties that incite racial or ethnic prejudices. Rather they encourage members of the Roma communities to become themselves active in the political representation, as representation of ethnic minority groups is an integral part of the democratic process.

In his speech Mr RRYHARA stressed: "Many mayors, councillors and governors in Europe show a big commitment for Roma Inclusion and the fight against anti-Gypsyism. Sadly, hardly anyone knows about it. The Declaration gives us the possibility to make their engagement public."

Currently, 117 municipalities and regions from 33 member states have signed the Declaration, among them there are 9 signatures from Ukraine: The Cities of Kropyvnytsky, Lviv, Uzhgorod, Mena, Mala Danylivka, the Districts of Pereyaslav-Khemelnytsky, Khust and the Regions of Rivne and Ivano-Frankivs'k.

Mr Petro PRYHARA, Ms Svitlana BOHATYRCHUK KRYVKO and Mr Sergii BASARAB also serve as members of the Ukrainian Delegation to the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe.

From left to right: Mr Sergii BASARAB, Mr Petro PRYHARA, Ms Svitlana BOHATYRCHUK KRYVKO