The "Alliance" fights discrimination against Roma at the local and regional levels, promotes their inclusion and raises awareness of these communities among local and regional authorities.

The Alliance operates under the auspices of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe.

Follow us on:

facebook twitter rss

Join the Alliance

If you wish your local or regional authority to become an Alliance participant, please use this form.

130 cities and regions from 29 countries

Please note

The term “Roma and Travellers” is used at the Council of Europe to encompass the wide diversity of the groups covered by the work of the Council of Europe in this field including Roma, Sinti/Manush, Calé, Kaale, Romanichals, Boyash/Rudari, Balkan Egyptians (Egyptians and Ashkali), Eastern groups (Dom, Lom and Abdal), groups such as Travellers, Yenish, and the populations designated under the administrative term “Gens du voyage”, as well as persons who identify themselves as Gypsies.


120 local and regional authorities now members of the Alliance

General Council of Val de Marne

The General Council of the French département of Val de Marne has just joined the European Alliance of Cities and Regions for Roma Inclusion, bringing the membership up to 120 local and regional authorities. The General Council’s decision to join followed a visit by a delegation from the Val de Marne to Strasbourg on 10 June 2013.

The Alliance was launched in March 2013 at the instigation of the Congress and the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, and brings together cities and regions which are prepared to make a commitment to running local programmes for Roma inclusion and tackling the prejudice and racism to which Roma are subjected.

In September 2013, the Alliance will begin implementing a new joint Council of Europe and European Commission project called ROMACT, the aim of which is to set up local Roma integration policies based on an approach combining housing, employment, education and health. It will focus initially on five countries (Bulgaria, Hungary, Italy, Romania and Slovakia) and draw on work already carried out by the Council of Europe (through its ROMED project) and by the Open Society Foundation (through its MERI programme).